The Level 2 Certificate in Practical Horticulture focuses on developing essential horticultural skills. These not only offer opportunities for employment, but provide the foundation for further skills development at level 3. The qualification consists of six mandatory units which cover the following topics:

 Soil Testing

 Practical skills in ground preparation for seeding and planting

 Sowing seeds and vegetative propagation techniques

 Practical skills in establishing seeds and plants in soil

 Care and pruning of plants

 Identification of a range of common garden plants, weeds, pests, diseases, disorders and beneficial organisms

In addition to the mandatory units, you must also successfully complete the following optional units. 

 Sustainable garden practice

  1. This qualification allows you to develop a level of plant knowledge deemed essential by the horticultural industries. It equips you with the knowledge and understanding to progress to employment within the horticultural sector. It assesses the knowledge of the scientific principles underpinning horticultural practices and supports career development for those already working in the profession.

    It also provides you with the opportunity of personal development, including the changing of careers and engagement in your learning and offers an opportunity to develop transferable skills such as problem solving, implementing management plans / programmes, and communication as part of your applied learning.

    It allows you the opportunity to progress to further learning opportunities at Level 3, and then to higher education, career advancement or entry in the horticultural industries at a more advanced, technical level.